June Bug by Kate McNairy

$14.00

 

“…June Bug is a delightful chapbook by a poet with a keen eye for images and a manner of transforming everyday objects—birds, apples, star, a deer—into totems of cosmic mystery. With a quirky, offhand sensibility in the tradition of Emily Dickinson, Kate McNairy may not “tell it slant” but she certainly “orbits it/Elliptically…”

–Campbell McGrath, author of nine full-length collections of poetry. The most recent is In the Kingdom of the Sea Monkeys (Ecco Press 2012). His work regularly appears in The New Yorker. Awarded a MacArthur Foundation “Genius” Grant.

 

“…These private, particular poems are irresistible, enchanting because they disturb so quietly. Kate McNairy has a rare talent: the ability to agitate—just enough for the sake of beauty—the worn grooves of everyday emotions and thoughts…”

–Therese Broderick, overall winner 2014 The Poetry Project & Poetry Ireland; and author of Dislodged(Benevolent Bird Press, 2013).

Rating: ***** [5 of 5 Stars!]

 

 

Category:

Description

June Bug

by Kate McNairy

$14, paper

Kate McNairy’s poetry has been published in numerous magazines. Best Poem “The Moon”, The Literary House Review “We Are Not People”, Chronogram “Speak Unspoken”, A Hudson View “Wet Bodies”, A Dangerous Heart”, The Apple Tree “The Mess”.
Her work has been published in newspapers; she has been a Writing Instructor at Empire State College, and is a member on the Editorial Board of Empire State College Academy for Lifelong Learning literary magazine, “The Apple Tree”. She has also attended the NY State Summer Writers Institute at Skidmore College.
Kate is a graduate of University at Albany and resides in Saratoga Springs, NY. where she enjoys rock, blues and jazz, walks downtown, and too many potato chips.

Rating: ***** [5 of 5 Stars!]

 

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “June Bug by Kate McNairy”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *